Hawaii Volcanoes National Park sign, Hawaii 1982

Childs, Iraphne R. (1982) Hawaii Volcanoes National Park sign, Hawaii 1982. [Image]

Image (JPEG) (slides)
Available under Licence CC BY-NC 3.0 AU.

Download (Image (JPEG), 3MB)


The island of Hawaii (the "Big Island") was formed from the coalescing of 5 volcanoes: Kohala, Mauna Kea, Hualalai, Mauna Loa and Kilauea. Kilauea and Mauna Loa, the present most active volcanoes on the Island, can be studied and observed up close in relative safety in the Hawaiian Volcanoes National Park, Puna district, approx. 48 km from the city of Hilo on the eastern coast. The caldera of Kilauea, the youngest and most active of the Hawaiian volcanoes, erupted almost continuously during the 19th century and the early part of the 20th century. Since January 1983 eruptive activity has been continuous along Kilauea's East Rift Zone, making it the world's longest erupting volcano.

Additional Information

Item Type: Image
Collection: Asia-Pacific Images: 1970s-1990s
Keywords: volcanoes; national parks; plaques
Date Deposited: 16 Oct 2013 13:03
Last Modified: 30 Aug 2014 19:38
Copyright Owner: Copyright Iraphne R. Childs.
CountryState or RegionCity or Town
United States of AmericaHawaiiHawaii Volcanoes National Park
URI: https://digitalcollections.qut.edu.au//id/eprint/324
Admin: item control page [repository staff only]